Ryder Cup 2018

On Friday, the 42nd edition of the Ryder Cup will begin, with the United States squad entering as a clear favorite over the European squad. While the U.S. team has not had the best outcomes in many recent outings, having lost four of the last six Ryder Cup events, its coming off pure domination in 2016 at Hazeltine over its European counterparts.

Star power is definitely something this year’s U.S. team is not lacking. As a matter of fact, this year’s Ryder Cup is bringing a lot of heat with this field, as 20 of the 24 golfers participating are ranked within the top 25 in the world. When it comes to one of the most anticipated events in golf, you can’t really ask for much more for your weekend viewing pleasure.

Ryder Cups are almost always insane, and the best thing about them is that they feel close until the very end. You can always talk yourself into a couple of matches flipping on their heads at some point, and you can always talk yourself into a couple of points going differently. With superstars and future hall-of-fame golfer littered throughout both teams, I expect a fabulous three days in Paris in what could be the best golf event of 2018. Strap in and get ready for some fun.

Justin Ray
@JustinRayGC
The U.S. Ryder Cup team has an average World Rank of 11.2, the best of any team (U.S. or Europe) since the World Ranking began in 1986.

5:40 PM – Sep 25, 2018
53
See Justin Ray’s other Tweets
Twitter Ads info and privacy
2018 Ryder Cup format
The Ryder Cup will be held in Paris from Friday, Sept. 28 to Sunday, Sept. 30. The first two days of Ryder Cup action will include split sessions with separate types of golf being played. Golfers from the United States and Europe will compete in both four-ball action early in the day and foursomes later in the day. On Sunday, the golfers will complete in one-on-one singles matches. Below we break down each type of match you will see this week.

Four-ball: Two-golfer teams representing each country square off against each other. Each of the four golfers plays their own ball and the pairs choose their best score to count for the hole.

Foursomes: Two-golfer teams representing each country square off against each other. This time, however, the players have to switch off hitting the same ball until it rolls in the cup. The rotation can start fresh the next hole. There is more strategy involved here, and the U.S. has struggled in this format over the last few years.

Scoring (for both): The winner of each hole receives a single point; if the score is even (such as both teams make birdie), no point is awarded. Points are never lost. At the end of each match, the winning team gets one point for their country (or 0.5 if it is even). A match can end early if the winning team is up more holes than there are left to play.

Singles: Sunday consists of 12 one-on-one matches played out over the course of the day. The winner of each match receives one point (or 0.5 if it is even).

2018 Ryder Cup schedule of events
All times Eastern

Opening ceremony — Thursday, Sept. 27
Live TV coverage: 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. on Golf Channel
Live stream online: 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. on RyderCup.com

Post-ceremony press conferences: 1:15-2:15 p.m. on RyderCup.com

Day 1 — Friday, Sept. 28
Session 1 (fourballs): 2 a.m.
Session 2 (foursomes): 7:45 a.m.

Live TV coverage: 2 a.m. – 1 p.m. on Golf Channel
Live stream online: 2 a.m. – 1 p.m. on RyderCup.com

Post-match press conferences: Live on RyderCup.com

Day 2 — Saturday, Sept. 29
Session 1 (fourballs) starts: 2 a.m.
Session 2 (foursomes) starts: 7:45 a.m.

Early TV coverage: 2-3 a.m. on Golf Channel

Live TV coverage: 3 a.m. – 1 p.m. on NBC
Live stream online: 3 a.m. – 1 p.m. on RyderCup.com

Post-match press conferences: Live on RyderCup.com

Day 3 — Sunday, Sept. 30
Singles: 6 a.m.

Live TV coverage: 6 a.m. – 1 p.m. on NBC
Live stream online: 6 a.m. – 1 p.m. on RyderCup.com

Trophy presentation / closing ceremony: Live on RyderCup.com

Post-match press conferences: Live on RyderCup.com

UFC 229

UFC 229 Live:The UFC returns to Dallas, Texas this weekend for their seventh pay-per-view event of a jammed-packed year. UFC 228 Live Stream – What channel is it on?

The main card and the preliminary fights will be shown live on BT Sport 2.

Alternatively, if you don’t have BT Sport, you can watch the prelims on the UFC’s Fight Pass service.
UFC 228 Live Stream – What time does it start?

The preliminary fights will get underway at 6:30pm ET and 3:30pm PT, with the main card kicking off at 10pm ET and 7pm PT.

Today on the show, we’ll talk Donald Cerrone’s scathing comments last week about JacksonWink MMA. Who is in the right here, Cerrone or coach Mike Winkeljohn? What does this mean for Cerrone’s fight at UFC Denver against Mike Perry? Why do fans find intra-gym feuds to be so interesting?

We’ll also discuss UFC 228, which is headlined Saturday by a welterweight title fight between champion Tyron Woodley and challenger Darren Till. The co-main event is a fascinating women’s flyweight title fight between champion Nicco Montaño and Valentina Shevchenko. Shevchenko is a massive favorite despite coming in as the challenger. How will the card play out? Is there anything else to watch for in Dallas?

A Till victory in Texas would see the Liverpool native follow in Michael Bisping’s footsteps and become the second Brit to hold a title in mixed martial arts’ premier promotion.

In the co-main event of the evening, women’s flyweight champion Nicco Montano will look to make the first defence of her 125lbs crown against two-time bantamweight title challenger Valentina Shevchenko.

Conor McGregor and Khabib Nurmagomedov have the chance to settle their differences within the confines of a 750-square-foot cage in just six weeks’ time.

The two lightweight fighters could contest one of the best fights of the year as the match-up presents an elite striker with concussive power in McGregor against a champion with intimidating strength, grappling, and wrestling skills in Nurmagomedov.

The fight involves a backstory that gripped the sports world in April, when McGregor was seen on video throwing guard rails at a bus carrying UFC fighters— an extraordinary attack that hospitalised two athletes.

UFC boss Dana White later claimed McGregor was motivated to confront Nurmagomedov, who had slapped McGregor’s close friend Artem Lobov, and was on the bus at the time of the attack.

McGregor and Nurmagomedov did not fight that night, but have the chance to punch, elbow, and choke each other at UFC 229— an upcoming pay-per-view show scheduled to take place at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.
When is UFC 229: Khabib vs. McGregor?

UFC 229 will be a festival of fights as the event card features 11 bouts in total. Nurmagomedov and McGregor are the headline attraction and their fight for the UFC lightweight championship belt is due to take place on October 6, 2018.

The main show will begin at 4 p.m. in Las Vegas, which means a 7 p.m. start if you live in New York. If you are in London, then expect to tune in at midnight. However, the Nurmagomedov vs. McGregor fight will start approximately three hours after this (potentially a lot later if the 10 previous bouts all go the distance).

London (BST): 3 a.m. (Sunday)
New York (ET): 10 p.m.
Chicago (CT): 9 p.m.
Denver (MT): 8 p.m.
Las Vegas (PT): 7 p.m.
Los Angeles (PT): 7 p.m.
Honolulu (HAST): 4 p.m.
Sydney (AET): 1 p.m. (Sunday)
Tokyo (JST): 11 a.m (Sunday)
Moscow (MSK): 5 a.m (Sunday)
Paris (CEST): 4 a.m (Sunday)
UFC 228: Woodley vs Till fight card

Tyron Woodley vs Darren Till (welterweight title fight)

Nicco Montano vs Valentina Shevchenko (women’s flyweight title fight)

Zabit Magomedsharipov vs Brandon Davis (men’s featherweight bout)

Jessica Andrade vs Karolina Kowalkiewicz (women’s strawweight bout)

Abdul Razak Alhassan vs Niko Price (welterweight bout)

If there’s time, we can chat about Sage Northcutt’s callout of Logan Paul, BJ Penn’s reported return against Ryan Hall and whatever else you viewers want us to discuss. Marc was at the All In independent pro wrestling show Saturday in the Chicago area and he could chat about that. There was also Invicta FC 31 last Saturday night, headlined by another impressive win by strawweight champion Virna Jandiroba.

There is plenty to talk about, so join us to discuss all of the above and much more. All is up for discussion. The chat will start at our usual time of 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT.

Like Luke Thomas before us, we’ll post the video window as the event draws near and answer any questions you might have if you post them in the comments below. For the comments you deem the most deserving, please click the “rec” button. Comments in green will get first priority.